A Routine Entry Cont…

I guess the second ogre to slaughter would be life outside of work.   I live with a family on a hill in the shadow of the Makhoarane mountain. It’s gorgeous and my family is so nice.  My father is the Morija town councillour and my mother works for the Ministry of Agriculture.   They have three authentic children (I’m the fake one) who have all moved out of the house.   But two house workers stay at the house along with a herd-boy who stays adjacent to my hut.  We have a massive garden that surrounds much of the house. It has produced: watermelons, peaches, carrots, tomatoes, green peppers, apricots, pumpkin, squash, green beans, chilies, maize, pees and cabbage.   It’s a powerhouse.   The amount of peaches we had was absurd.   I started a competition with my father to see who could eat more peaches in a day.   He destroyed me.  “Ntate, How many have you eaten today,”    “13.”  We also have an array of livestock.   There’s 8 dairy cows, 7 pigs, and numerous chickens.  It’s nice to experience “the farm life” even though it’s not quite a farm.  My parents devote an incredible amount of free-time to the garden and animals.

During the week, I usually do nothing in the morning except wash and eat.  After work, I like to exercise.  I bought a bike and am cycling the rolling hills of Morija and the surrounding area while the sun sets.  It’s incredible scenery.  I also have trained with the local soccer team quite a bit which has been a good way to get to know the guys my age.  There is something authentic about playing the game on the dirt fields of Africa.   I have probably lost between 15 to 20 pounds.   I don’t have a scale, but that’s my guess.

At dinner my family congregates around the TV and we watch the news and a soapie called “Generations.”  The food is quite repetitive, but oddly comforting.  The staple is what  they call papa, which is cornmeal in congealed slabs.   I try to cook once a week.  Tacos are the clear favourite.  They think it’s fantastic.   And really who doesn’t like tacos?  I try to retire to my room to read or write before I go to bed.   I have read quite a few books.  Currently I’m reading The Prodigal Son by Henri Nouwen.   But have plowed through several of my books.  I have to admit the Robertson Davies trilogy was great and the Idiot by Dostoyevsky caused me to eliminate all other priorities in life until it was finished.  I go to bed listening to the BBC World Service on my shortwave radio.

I think I have crushed the monster.  Finally.

2 Responses

  1. You really need to stop bragging about the peaches, we still have snow covering half the garden! Good luck against Lance and have a blast with the rents!

  2. Hey Simon – Which trilogy? the first–the Salterton Trilogy–is great, but the second one is even better: The Deptford Trilogy. Then there’s the Cornish Trilogy…..

    lots of good reading ahead!

    Suzanne

Leave a comment